Site Navigation

Football Caps Off 2010 Season with Numerous Postseason Honors

Columbia's Andrew Kennedy
Columbia's Andrew Kennedy

Complete Football Final Release in pdf format

2010 FCS Postseason All-America Teams:
Associated Press | College Sporting News | Phil Steele | The Sports Network | Walter Camp

2010 FCS All-Star Teams:
ECAC | FCS ADA | New England Sports Writers

Portions courtesy of Columbia Sports Information/Media Relations, Harvard Athletic Communications, Penn Athletic Commuincations and Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- A total of 25 Ivy League football student-athletes received postseason recognition, highlighted by six earning All-America honors, following the 2010 season.

Columbia senior tight end Andrew Kennedy was named to five All-America teams while Dartmouth junior cornerback/return specialist Shawn Abuhoff was twice named All-America and Harvard senior defensive lineman Josue Ortiz, Penn senior fullback Luke DeLuca and senior offensive lineman Luis Ruffolo and Princeton senior wide receiver Trey Peacock received selection to one All-America team each.

Kennedy was named to the first team of The Sports Network and Phil Steele Postseason Football Championship Subdivision All-America teams, the College Sporting News and Walter Camp FCS All-America teams and to the second team of the Associated Press FCS All-America teams while Abuhoff was named first-team The Sports Network All-America and third-team Phil Steele Postseason All-America as a punt return specialist, Ortiz was named Associated Press FCS All-America as member of its third team, Ruffolo was named to The Sports Network's All-America third team and DeLuca and Peacock were named to Phil Steele's Postseason All-America third team.

A first team All-Ivy League selection, Kennedy caught 50 passes for 616 yards and nine touchdowns in 2010.  The nine touchdown catches led all Ivy League receivers.  Kennedy also ranked third among Ivy Leaguers in receiving yards per game and fourth in receptions per game. During the 2010 season, Kennedy caught a touchdown in three straight games, had two games with 100+ receiving yards and had one game with two touchdown grabs and another game with three scores. A two-time All-Ivy League honoree, Kennedy finished his stellar career with 102 receptions, 1,187 receiving yards and 15 touchdown catches. He is the first Columbian to earn a spot on the team since Wade Fletcher, another dominant tight end, in 2004. Kennedy is on track to graduate from Columbia College in May with a degree in history.

As a return man, Abuhoff was third in the nation in punt return average at 17.2 yards per return while bringing back three punts for touchdowns, a figure no FCS player equaled. He also averaged 26.4 yards on 22 kickoff returns, ranking 21st in the country. Abuhoff was also named the Punt

Kennedy and Abuhoff were also honored by College Football Performance Awards' 2010 FCS Awards with Kennedy receiving the Tight End Award and Abuhoff earning the Punt Return Award. The duo were also recognized as ECAC FCS All-Stars, along with Cornell senior punter Drew Alston.

Ortiz led the Ivy League in tackles for a loss (13.5) and was second in sacks (7.5), becoming just the second defensive tackle at Harvard to lead his team in those categories. He also ranked third overall with 54 total tackles. He recorded at least one tackle behind the line of scrimmage in all but two games this season. With the selection, Ortiz ensured that Harvard will have had at least one All-American in each of the last 12 years.

DeLuca was  a key blocker for Penn in addition to 146 rushing yards, 65 receiving yards and four touchdowns. He, along with the offensive line, made the way for sophomore running back Brandon Colavita to lead the team in scoring with 12 rushing touchdowns and 728 yards on 125 carries for an average of 5.8 yards per carry, which stands as the second-best single-season total in school history (Chris Flynn at 6.2 in 1986).

Ruffolo, a first-team All-Ivy selection, was a member of the Penn offensive line that guided the Quakers to lead the Ivy League in total offense, rushing offense, scoring and fewest sacks allowed. Only two teams in the country allowed fewer sacks than Penn's six and only five teams in the FCS rushed for more yards than Penn's 310.82 yards per game.

Peacock completed a brilliant senior season ranked in the top 10 nationally in both receptions per game (7.2) and receiving yards per game (95.5). He ended the season with 11 more catches and 113 more receiving yards than anybody in the Ivy League. Peacock concluded this year with 955 receiving yards, fifth most in one season ever at Princeton. He had four games with at least 100 receiving yards, including a 196-yard receiving day at Lehigh, the eighth-best single-game total in Princeton history.

Twelve Ivies were named to the FCS All-New England All-Star Team by the New England Sportswriters Association -- Offense: Brown senior offensive lineman Patrick Conroy and senior wide receiver Alexander Tounkara, Dartmouth junior tailback and Ivy League Co-Player of the Year Nick Schwieger and junior offensive lineman Ryan O'Neill, and Harvard senior running back and Ivy League Co-Player of the Year Gino Gordon; Defense: Dartmouth senior defenisve lineman Charles Bay, Ortiz and Harvard senior safety Collin Zych and Yale senior defensive end Tom McCarthy and senior safety Adam Money; Special Teams: Abuhoff and Brown junior punter Nate Lovett.

Penn head coach Al Bagnoli was named one of 20 finalists for the Eddie Robinson Award, given annually by The Sports Network to the top coach in the FCS, while one of his Quakers, senior placekicker Andrew Samson, was one of 10 finalists for the Fred Mitchell Award, which is provided to the placekicker that best excels on the football field and in the community in the FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA divisions combined.

Cornell senior defensive back Emani Fenton and senior linebacker Dempsey Quinn participated in the 2010 FCS Senior Scout Bowl on Dec. 11 at Faller Field in Middletown, N.Y. The game was a showcase of senior football players from FCS schools in an all-star game format. The Big Red duo played for the North team, which dropped a 13-12 decision to the South team.

Prior to the NCAA Division I Football Championship Game in Frisco, Texas, Columbia senior linebacker Alex Gross, Dartmouth senior wide receivers Tanner Scott and Tim McManus, Yale senior linebacker Jesse Reising and junior quarterback Patrick Witt were among 52 players named to 13th annual FCS Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA)Academic All-Star Team.

Scott was named one of eight finalists for 10th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 postgraduate scholarships. An economics major with a 3.83 GPA, Scott was Dartmouth's third-leading receiver this season, catching 21 passes for 309 yards and a touchdown. Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida., June 16-18.