Site Navigation

Forty-Four Football Ivies Named to the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Forty-Four Football Ivies Named to the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Courtesy of the National Football Foundation

DALLAS -- Fourty-four Ivy League football student-athetes were announced as members of the 2011 National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF).

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 GPA or better. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year, showing a steady increase in membership each year since the inaugural class in 2007.

"In just the fifth year of this initiative, it gives the NFF great pride to honor so many qualified and accomplished collegiate players as members of this year's Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The number of players we are able to recognize has nearly doubled since the first year of the program, showing that you can play football at the highest level and still be a standout student."

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program, greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year and further strengthening the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies, provided an endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. He made the contribution as part of his legacy to the organization after serving as NFF chairman from 1994-2006. Each of the 671 players awarded with membership in this year's Honor Society will receive a certificate commemorating the achievement.

"We encourage every football-playing school in the country to get involved in this most important initiative," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, "Thanks to the generosity of Jon F. Hanson, we have honored nearly 3,000 of our nation's best and brightest college players over the past five years. This program truly shows the power of football in building tomorrow's leaders."

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Hampshire Honor Society represents a powerful component in the organization's rich history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards program became the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on a player's combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. And, since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $9.5 million to 740 top scholars and community leaders.

Currently, the NFF distributes more than $300,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Additionally, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, is given to one member of each year's class as the absolute best. The winner of the Campbell, claimed by Texas defensive end Sam Acho in 2010, receives a total scholarship of $25,000 and a 24-inch, 25-pound bronze trophy. Through, its chapter network, the NFF also awards an additional $1 million to local high school student-athletes, bringing the NFF's annual scholarship distribution total to more than $1.3 million. A record-high nine NFF National Scholar-Athletes were selected in last week's NFL Draft.

Ivy League Football Student-Athletes Named to the 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society:

Brown (11)
John Anderson
John Connelly
Patrick Conroy
John Cook
Cameron Cotton
Brian Ellixson
Blaine Grinna
Russell Leedy
Jeremy Raducha
Joe Springer
Zachary Tronti

Columbia (8)
Dan Cohen
Alex Gross*
Nico Gutierrez
Marc Holloway
Nathan Lenz
Adam Mehrer
Matt Stotler
August Williams

Dartmouth (3)
Donald Kephart
Will Montgomery
Tanner Scott

Harvard (9)
Ryan Burkhead
Michael Cook
Dan Driscoll
Nick Hasselberg
Andrew Hatch
Victor Ojukwu
David Sklar
Anthony Spadafino
Collin Zych

Penn (6)
Drew Luongo
Jared Mollenbeck
Josh Powers
Luis Ruffolo
Jonathan Saelinger
Andrew Samson

Yale (7)
Chris Blohm
Jordan Forney
Brook Hart
Jake Koury
Adam Money
Jesse Reising
Joe Young

*2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete