Site Navigation

Ivy League Presence in Super Bowl XLVIII

Super Bowl Coverage on

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. --  The Ivy League will have a presence on and off the field in the Super Bowl XLVIII matchup between the Denver Broncos and the Seattle Seahawks.

On the field, former Cornell standout Bryan Walters is on the active roster for the Seahawks, becoming the 22nd former Ancient Eight gridiron great to play in the National Football League's world championship game.

During the regular season, the four-year veteran wide receiver appeared in four games for Seattle and earned his first official NFL start. Walters orginally signed with the San Diego Chargers as an undrafted free agent in 2010 and appeared in four games over two seasons with the team. He spent some time with the Minnesota Vikings in 2012 before being signed to a futures contract with the Seahawks on Jan. 31, 2013. The team signed him to the 53-man roster from the practice squad on Oct. 12. He was placed back on the practice squad on Nov. 13 and was promoted again to the active roster on Dec. 19.

The Kirkland, Wash., native ended his Big Red career as the Ivy League's all-time leader in kickoff returns (129), kickoff return yards (2,790) and punt return yards (970) and second in career punt returns (108).

Former Harvard star Isaiah Kacyvenski, who played six-plus seasons with the Seahawks will be with his former team throughout the week and at the same. Kacyvenski played in 90 games, starting in 22, with 237 tackles, one sack, three forced fumbles and three interceptions with the team from 2000-06. He was named special teams captain three-straight years, including in 2005 when Seattle advanced all the way to Super Bowl XL. Kacyvenski played a total of seven NFL seasons, ending his career with the St. Louis Rams in 2006.

The League has another tie to the game and to the Seahawks via starting quarterback Russell Wilson, who is the son of 1977 Dartmouth graduate Harrison B. Wilson III. Affectionately known as "Harry B.", the older Wilson was a standout football and baseball player for the Big Green in the mid-1970s.

Seattle team president Peter McLoughlin also has Ivy ties as a 1979 Harvard graduate. In addition to his front office role with the Seahawks, McLoughlin serves as CEO of Vulcan Sports & Entertainment, president of Major League Soccer's Seattle Sounders FC and CenturyLink Field's management branch, First & Goal, Inc., and is on Board of Directors for the National Basketball Association's Portland Trail Blazers.

For the second-straight year, Columbia Associate Director of Athletics for Sports Medicine Jim Gossett will be serving as one of two NFL Certified Athletic Trainer (ATC) spotters during the game. His role will be to look for mechanisms of head and neck injury and inform the medical staffs on the sidelines of his observations. Gossett has served as the Lions' head athletic trainer for 29 years and this year marks his 34th season working for Columbia.

Off the field, Dr. Archie Roberts, a 1965 Columbia graduate, is hosting an event with his Living Heart Foundation at the Campbell Sports Center in association with the Super Bowl week festivities.

Super Bowl XLVIII is Sunday, Feb. 2 at MetLife Stadium. The game kicks off at 6:25 p.m. on FOX.

Super Bowl Appearances
App. Player School Year(s)
3 Jason Garrett Princeton 1993-95-2001
2 Calvin Hill Yale 1971-72
2 Ed Marinaro Cornell 1974-75
2 George Starke Columbia 1983-84
2 Bob Holly Princeton 1983-84
2 Kenny Hill Yale 1984-87
2 Reggie Williams Dartmouth 1982-89
2 Sean Morey Brown 2006-09
2 Kevin Boothe Cornell 2008-12
2 Zak DeOssie Brown 2008-12
1 Chuck Mercein Yale 1968
1 John Dockery Harvard 1969
1 John Spagnola Yale 1981
1 Pat McInally Harvard 1982
1 Rich Diana Yale 1983
1 Derrick Harmon Cornell 1985
1 Gary Fencik Yale 1986
1 Isaiah Kacyvenski Harvard 2006
1 Jim Finn Penn 2008
1 Colin Cloherty Brown 2010
1 Matt Birk Harvard 2013
1 Bryan Walters Cornell 2014


















Super Bowl Victories
Wins Player School Year(s)
2 Kenny Hill Yale 1984-87
2 Jason Garrett Princeton 1993-95
2 Kevin Boothe
Cornell 2008-12
2 Zak DeOssie Brown 2008-12
1 Chuck Mercein Yale 1968
1 John Dockery Harvard 1969
1 Calvin Hill Yale 1972
1 Bob Holly Princeton 1983
1 George Starke Columbia 1983
1 Derrick Harmon Cornell 1985
1 Gary Fencik Yale 1986
1 Sean Morey
Brown 2006
1 Jim Finn Penn 2008
1 Matt Birk Harvard 2013