Site Navigation

Strong Ivy League Presence at the IRA National Championships

Strong Ivy League Presence at the IRA National Championships

2012 IRA National Championships: List of Accepted Crews | Coverage

PRINCETON, N.J. -- All eight Ivy League schools are among the list of accepted crews announced Tuesday by the Board of Stewards of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) for the 110th IRA National Championships.

The participating schools will be vying for the Varsity Challenge Cup and Ten Eyck Trophy on May 31-June 2 at Cooper River Park in Pennsauken, N.J.

In the varsity eight, the Ivy League makes up seven of the following 18 schools that received invitations to compete for the IRA National Championship. All 18 schools have the option of also entering a second varsity eight, freshmen eight, varsity four, and open four.
The accepted crews are:

From the Pacific-12 Conference (3 automatic bids):
Washington - 1st
California - 2nd
Stanford - 3rd

From the EARC (9 automatic bids):
Brown - 1st
Harvard - 2nd
Wisconsin - 3rd
Princeton - 4th
Navy - 5th
Syracuse - 6th
Boston University - 7th
Yale - 8th
Northeastern -9th

From the SIRA (1 automatic bid):
George Washington - 1st

From the WIRA (2 automatic bids; one left unclaimed):
Gonzaga -1st

From the Dad Vail (1 automatic bid)
Drexel - 3rd

The three remaining at-large bids went to:
Cornell - 10th at EARC Sprints
Penn - 11th at EARC Sprints
Dartmouth - 12th at EARC Sprints

IRA affiliate schools which did not qualify for a varsity eight invitation have the option of racing in the varsity four only. The following schools will exercise that option and compete in the 16-boat varsity four event (which is down five entries from 2011):

Holy Cross

The second varsity eights field will feature 17 crews as Northeastern will race in two fours instead of fielding a second eight. The freshmen eights field will feature a full field of 18 crews. The open fours field will feature these 13 crews, all of whom are entered in the varsity eight and competing as a team: Brown, California, Cornell, Drexel, Harvard, Navy, Northeastern, Princeton, Syracuse, Washington, Wisconsin and Yale.

The Ivy League consists of six of the seven schools that will contest for the Lightweight Men's Eight National Championship. All were top-seven finishers at the EARC Sprints. The bid on offer at the Dad Vail Regatta was not claimed by an eligible crew. The accepted crews are:


Six of these schools exercised the option to race in the Lightweight Men's Four event, as will these IRA-member schools who did not get an eights bid: Milwaukee School of Engineering, MIT, Navy and Wisconsin.