Site Navigation

Men's Ice Hockey All-Ivy -- 2011

Men's Ice Hockey All-Ivy -- 2011

Complete 2011 Men's Hockey Ice Hockey Release

PRINCETON, N.J. -- From seasoned upperclassmen to early career contributors, the Ivy League men's ice hockey postseason awards featured a diverse group of honorees who had strong impacts on their respective teams during the 2010-11 season.

Leading the group of veterans was Brown senior forward Harry Zolnierczyk (Toronto, Ontario), who was voted Player of the Year by the League's coaches. Zolnierczyk was one of the top points producers in ECAC Hockey this season with 16 goals and 15 assists, pacing the Bears to their 10th-straight appearance in the ECAC Hockey Championship. A two-time ECAC Hockey/MLX Skates Player of the Week winner, Zolnierczyk was the leader in Ivy games with eight goals in the 10 games against League foes.

Zolnierczyk is just the fourth-ever Brown player to earn Player of the Year honors and the first since 2004 when Yann Danis earned the recognition. In addition to Danis, he joins former Bears Mike Brewer (1992) and Ryan Mulhern (1995).

Zolnierczyk's stellar senior season also earned him first-team All-Ivy honors, highlighting a group of underclassmen -- Dartmouth junior goaltender James Mello (Rehoboth, N.H.), Yale senior forward Broc Little (Rindge, N.H.) and Princeton senior defenseman Taylor Fedun (Edmonton, Alberta) -- who also garnered first-team nods.

The only unanimous first-team selection, Mello lead the Ivy League and ECAC Hockey in save percentage and was tops in the League in with a 1.89 goals against average. He ended the regular season ranked fourth in ECAC Hockey in GAA (2.17), saves (677), wins (14) and winning percentage (.646).

The only honoree making a second-straight appearance on the first team, Little is one of the key members of Yale's formidable attack that led the Bulldogs to their third-straight Ivy League title. Little was among the five-way for first in points in Ivy games with 11 (five goals, six assists) and was among the top eight scorers among all ECAC Hockey teams.

A second-team selection a year ago, Fedun earned first-team honors this season coming in his fourth year as a staple in the Princeton defense. Fedun capped his senior campaign with 21 points (10 goals, 11 assists) to give the Tigers two 20-point defensemen for the first time since the 1970-71 season.

Headlining the crop of underclassmen were freshman forwards Andrew Calof of Princeton (Nepean, Ontario) and Matt Lindblad of Dartmouth (Winnetka, Ill.), who shared Rookie of Year honors for the first time since Harvard's Tim Pettit and Yale's Jeff Dwyer shared the award following the 2000-01 season.

Calof, who also earned recognition on the All-Ivy first team, led the way with eight assists and was tied for first with 11 points in Ivy games. He is also the first Princeton player to reach 30 points (seven goals, 23 assists) since the 2007-08 season. His 23 assists ranks four among all ECAC Hockey skaters.

Lindblad, who was one of four forward to receive honorable mention status, finished just behind five-way tie for first in Ivy scoring with 10 points (six goals, four assists). He finished the regular season third on the Big Green with 23 points (10 goals, 13 assists).

A couple of sophomores, Yale forward Andrew Miller (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) and Harvard defenseman Danny Biega (Montreal, Quebec) rounded out the first-team All-Ivy selections.

Miller was impressive all season for the Bulldogs, completing the regular season as ECAC Hockey's second-leading scorer with 35 points (10 goals, 25 assists). His goals have come in the clutch for Yale with four hitting the net as game-winners, which ranks 12th nationally.

Biega continued his quality play for the Crimson ranked seventh in the country among defensemen, averaging 0.86 points per game. He was led all Ivy defensemen in points and was among the five-way tie in points in Ivy games with four goals and seven assists.


Player of the Year
Harry Zolnierczyk, Brown (Sr., F, Toronto, Ontario)

Co-Rookies of the Year
Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Fr., F, Winnetka, Ill.)
Andrew Calof, Princeton (Fr., F, Nepean, Ontario)

First Team All-Ivy (7)^
F – Harry Zolnierczyk, Brown (Sr., Toronto, Ontario)
F – Andrew Calof, Princeton (Fr., Nepean, Ontario)
F – Broc Little, Yale (Sr., Rindge, N.H.)
F – Andrew Miller, Yale (So., Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)
D – Danny Biega, Harvard (So., Montreal, Quebec)
D – Taylor Fedun, Princeton (Sr., Edmonton, Alberta)
*G – James Mello, Dartmouth (Jr., Rehoboth, N.H.)

Second Team All-Ivy (8)^
F – Scott Fleming, Dartmouth (Sr., Plainfield, Ontario)
F – Alex Killorn, Harvard (Jr., Montreal, Quebec)
F – Chris Cahill, Yale (Sr., North Andover, Mass.)
D – Dennis Robertson, Brown (Fr., Fort St. John, British Columbia)
D – Nick D'Agostino, Cornell (So., Bolton, Ontario)
D – Joe Stejskal, Dartmouth (Sr., Grand Rapids, Minn.)
D – Jimmy Martin, Yale (Sr., St. Louis, Mo.)
G – Ryan Rondeau, Yale (Sr., Carvel, Alberta)

Honorable Mention (5)
F – Adam Estoclet, Dartmouth (Sr., Orono, Minn.)
F – Matt Lindblad, Dartmouth (Fr., Winnetka, Ill.)
F – Mike Kramer, Princeton (Sr., St. Paul, Minn.)
F – Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pa.)
G – Andy Iles, Cornell (Fr., Ithaca, N.Y.)

* - unanimous selection
^ - has more than six players due to ties in the voting