Site Navigation

Cornell's Pannell Named the USILA's Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year

Cornell's Rob Pannell
Cornell's Rob Pannell

Courtesy of Cornell Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Cornell junior Rob Pannell has been named the USILA's Lt. Raymond Enners Award winner as the Division I national player of the year and has repeated as the Jack Turnbull Award winner as the Division I national attackman of the year, as was announced this morning by the USILA. Pannell becomes just the 11th repeat winner in the 65-year history of the Turnbull Award and is the first-ever Cornellian to win the award twice in his career.

Only four Cornell players in total have won the Turnbull Award, as Pannell joins Eamon McEneaney '77, Mike French '76, and Tim Goldstein '87, and he is one of five Big Red players to be named the Enners Award winner, along with French, McEneaney, Goldstein and Max Seibald '09.

A 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, Pannell recently earned his second consecutive first-team All-America honor when the teams were announced yesterday morning. The junior attackman is the reigning two-time Ivy League Player of the Year and currently leads the nation in points per game (5.24), while ranking second overall in assists per game (2.76), and 10th overall in goals per game (2.47). He is also the first Big Red player since 2001 to lead Cornell in points, goals and assists in the same season. Pannell also owns the longest point-scoring streak in the nation, having registered at least one point in each of his 52 career games, and he has the most career assists (140) and career points (236) of any active player in Division I men's lacrosse.

He finished the year ranked sixth overall in Cornell history for single season assists (47) and seventh overall for single season points (89). He also took a dramatic leap up the Big Red career records lists, ending the 2011 campaign in second place overall for career assists (140), third overall for career points (236) and seventh overall for career goals (96).

The complete Division I USILA awards are below:
Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award: Outstanding Player of the Year
Rob Pannell, Cornell

Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award: Outstanding Attackman
Rob Pannell, Cornell

Lt. Donald McLaughlin, Jr. Award: Outstanding Midfield Player
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook

William C. Schmeisser Award: Outstanding Defensive Player
John Lade, Syracuse

Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award: Outstanding Goalie
John Galloway, Syracuse