Site Navigation

Men's Soccer All-Ivy -- 2013

Men's Soccer All-Ivy -- 2013

Photos courtesy of Penn Athletic Communications, Cornell Athletic Communications and Columbia Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Penn's Duke Lacroix (New Egypt, N.J.) was named the Ivy League's Offensive Player of the Year and Cornell's Patrick Slogic (Colorado Springs, Colo.) was named the Ancient Eight's Defensive Player of the Year when the League office announced the annual men's soccer award winners on Wednesday.

This is the first year that the men's and women's soccer coaches in the League have divided the League's top honor into offensive and defensive categories.

Lacroix became just the second Quaker to win a Player of the Year award in men's soccer, joining Matt Haefner who won the award in 2002 as a goalkeeper. Slogic became the second-straight Big Red player to earn a Player of the Year award after forward Daniel Haber became the first Cornell player to earn the top honor last season.

Lacroix led the Quakers to their first outright Ivy crown in 42 years. Penn will be making its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2009 on Thursday when it hosts Providence. Lacroix is second in the League in overall goals with eight, four of them coming in Ivy play. He has 19 points this season, 11 of them against League foes. He tallied one of Penn's two goals in the League title-clinching win over Harvard last Saturday.

Slogic, who also earned his third first-team All-Ivy selection, was the anchor for the Cornell defense this season. Cornell had a team goals against average of 0.60, best in the Ivy League and currently ranked No. 6 in all of Division I. With Slogic's leadership, the Big Red recorded eight shutouts this season, including four of their last six matches. 

Columbia's Andrew Tinari (Holbrook, N.Y.) was named the League's Rookie of the Year. Tinari had 13 points on the season on five goals and three assists. Three of his tallies came during League play. He had a string of three-straight matches with a goal, scoring against Dartmouth, Yale and Sacred Heart.

Due to ties in the voting, there were 15 players named to the first team. Earning first-team honors at forward were Lacroix and Princeton's frontline of Cameron Porter (Centerville, Ohio) and Thomas Sanner (Indianapolis). Porter and Lacroix were unanimous selections. Porter leads the League in scoring currently with 21 points. He finished with nine goals on the year, six of which came in Ivy play. He had five goals in the last five matches this season.

In the midfield, six players earned first-team honors due to ties in the voting. Brown's Tariq Akeel (Rochester Hills, Mich.), Columbia's Tinari and David Najem (Clifton, N.J.), Dartmouth's Colin Heffron (Upper Brookville, N.Y.), Penn's Louis Schott (Medina, Wash.) and Princeton's Myles McGinley (Oakton, Va.) all earned first-team accolades.

Also due to ties, there were five first-team selections on defense. Slogic unanimously earned his third first-team All-Ivy selection, becoming the first Big Red player since Peter Pakeman (1981-83) to do so. He was joined by Dartmouth's Colin Skelly (Wrightstown, Pa.), Yale's Nick Alers (San Jose, Costa Rica), Penn's Jonny Dolezal (Wynnewood, Pa.) and Princeton's Josh Miller (Portland, Ore.). Alers earned his second first-team honor, having also been selected in 2011.

Harvard goalkeeper Evan Mendez (Ballston Spa, N.Y.) earned first-team honors, as well, after going 6-1-1 this season in goal for the Crimson. Mendez, who had a 0.85 goals against average and a League-best .851 save percentage, went 5-1-0 in League play this season and was a big reason the Crimson was in the Ivy race right down to the final match of the season.

League champ Penn had three first-team selections and seven total, including the second-team and honorable mention selections.  Princeton had a League-high four first-team selections and six overall selections.

Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.)

Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Andrew Tinari, Columbia (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)

*Duke Lacroix, Penn (Jr., F – New Egypt, N.J.)
*Cameron Porter, Princeton (Jr., F – Centerville, Ohio)
Thomas Sanner, Princeton (So., F – Indianapolis)
Tariq Akeel, Brown (So.,  M – Rochester Hills, Mich.)
David Najem, Columbia (Sr., M – Clifton, N.J.)
Myles McGinley, Princeton (Jr., M – Oakton, Va.)
Andrew Tinari, Columbia  (Fr., M – Holbrook, N.Y.)
Colin Heffron, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Upper Brookville, N.Y.)
Louis Schott, Penn (Jr., M – Medina, Wash.)
*Patrick Slogic, Cornell (Sr., D – Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Colin Skelly, Dartmouth (Sr., D – Wrightstown, Pa.)
Nick Alers, Yale (Sr., D – San Jose, Costa Rica)
Jonny Dolezal, Penn (Sr., D – Wynnewood, Pa.)
Josh Miller, Princeton (So., D – Portland, Ore.)
Evan Mendez, Harvard (So., GK – Ballston Spa, N.Y.)
William Stamatis, Columbia (Sr., F – Mountainside, N.J.)
Cameron Kirdzik, Yale (Fr., F – Flemington, N.J.)
Alec Neumann, Penn (Fr., F – New Hope, Pa.)
Kevin Harrington, Harvard (Sr., M – Pittsford, N.Y.)
Ross Friedman, Harvard (Sr., D – Bexley, Ohio)
Henos Musie, Yale (So., M – Gothenburg, Sweden)
Daniel Taylor, Brown (Jr., M – Greenwich, Conn.)
Mark Ashby, Harvard (So., D – Denton, Texas)
Billy McGuinness, Princeton (Sr., D – LaGrange Park, Ill.)
Jake Rinow, Cornell (Sr., D – Lancaster, N.Y.)
Kyle Jackson, Columbia (So., GK – Paradise Valley, Ariz.)

Ben Williams, Cornell (Sr., M – Noblesville, Ind.)
Brian Costa, Princeton (Fr., M – Warren, N.J.)
Matt Poplawski, Penn (Fr., M – Bellevue, Wash.)
Max McKiernan, Yale (Sr., M – Louisville, Ky.)
Alex Markes, Brown (Jr., D – Valenica, Calif.)
Peter Chodas, Cornell (Jr., D – LaCanada, Calif.)
Austin Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)
Phillip Piper, Yale  (So., D – The Woodlands, Texas)
Josh Weiner, Brown (Sr., GK – Armonk, N.Y.)
Zach Zagorski, Cornell (Jr., GK – Westfield, N.J.)
Tyler Kinn, Penn (Sr., D – Sacramento, Calif.)

*Unanimous Selection
^Due to ties in the voting, the first team expanded to 15 players