Site Navigation

Five Men's Tennis Teams, 43 Student-Athletes Receive 2011-12 ITA Academic Honors

Five Men's Tennis Teams, 43 Student-Athletes Receive 2011-12 ITA Academic Honors

Courtesy of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association

SKILLMAN, N.J. -- Ivy League men's tennis had five teams and 33 student-athletes honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association for academic achievement during the 2011-12 season.

Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Harvard and Yale were named ITA All-Academic Teams for maintaining a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale).

Individually, 43 Ivy League men's tennis players earned ITA Scholar-Athlete status. To qualify for the scholar-athlete honor a player must meet the following criteria: 1) be a varsity letter winner, 2) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.0 scale) for the current academic year, and 3) have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman thorough senior year).

Ivy student-athletes named 2011-12 ITA Scholar-Athletes were:

Brown (7) -- Soufiane Azargui, Tom Deightor, Dan Hirshberg, Jacob Laser, David Neff, Will Spector and Andrew Yazmer

Columbia (6) -- Tizian Bucher, Theodore Marin, Ashok Narayana, Haig Schneiderman, Max Schnur and Bert Vancura

Cornell (10) -- Kyle Bermen, Zhoming Chen, Spencer Clark, Samuel Fleck, Venkat Iyer, Jason Lun, Evan McElwain, Charles Quay, Christopher Song and Andro Zunic

Harvard (7) -- Alistair Felton, Davis Mangham, Roberston McAnulty, Andy Nguyen, Jeffrey Parker, Jonathan Pearlman and John Thornton

Princeton (3) -- Coleman Crutchfield, Yohei Shoji and Ravi Yegya-Raman

Yale (10) -- Erik Blumenkranz, Patrick Chase, Zachary Dean, Daniel Faierman, Daniel Hoffman, John Huang, Zachary Krumholz, Marc Powers, Joseph Ratchford and Joel Samaha