Site Navigation

Ivy League Sends 22 Student-Athletes to NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships

Ivy League Sends 22 Student-Athletes to NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- The Ivy League acquitted itself well in the NCAA East Region Preliminaries, as the men's and women's teams combined to send 22 student-athletes on to the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championship, which will take place June 6-9 at Drake Stadium in Des Moines, Iowa.

All eight League teams will be represented in the NCAA Championship. From the men's side, 15 Ivies will compete for a chance to be named All-American, while the women's teams will send seven.

Princeton led the way, as eight members of its two squads will compete in the NCAA Championship. Sophomore Conor McCullough (hammer throw) and junior Greta Feldman (1,500m) won the East Regional title in their respective events. Feldman clocked in with a Princeton-record 4:15.00, the third-best time in Ivy League history. McCullough will be joined on the men's side by Damon McLean (triple jump), Donn Cabral (steeplechase), Brian Leung (10,000m), Trevor Van Ackeren (1,500m) and Joe Stilin (5,000m).

Brown saw three of its athletes advance, as Erik Berg will join Van Ackeren in the 1,500m and Dan Lowry will compete against Stilin in the 5,000m. Olivia Mickle clinched a berth in the 10,000m, where she will run against Cornell's Katie Kellner. The Big Red sent four to the NCAAs, as Genna Hartung (steeplechase), Montez Blair (high jump) and Nick Huber (decathlon) will also compete.

Dartmouth sends two from its women's team in sophomore Abbey D'Agostino (5,000m) and senior Alexi Pappas (steeplechase).

Penn sophomore Maalik Reynolds advanced in the high jump and hopes to earn his second-straight All-American title in that event.

Columbia's Kyle Merber (1,500m) and Harry McFann (800m) each earned NCAA Championship berths for the Lions, as did Nadia Eke (triple jump) on the women's side.

Harvard and Yale each sent one athlete to the NCAA Championship, in Nico Weiler (pole vault) and Michael Levine (discus), respectively.