Site Navigation

Dartmouth, Penn Share League Title, Bracket Set for Women's Lacrosse Tournament

Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament Central

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Dartmouth joined Penn as women's lacrosse Co-Ivy League regular-season champs Friday night with a 14-7 win over Harvard. It marked the 11th all-time time title for the Big Green and the first since 2005.

With a share of the title going to Friday's victor, Dartmouth (10-4, 6-1) came out of the gates on fire, taking a 4-1 lead just 12 minutes in, and extending that to an 8-4 advantage at the half. Five straight goals in the second half pushed the lead to 13-5 and put the Ivy title easily in sight.

Greta Meyer led the Big Green with four goals whiel Kat Collins added three. Rookie goalkeeper Kristen Giovaniello recorded 13 saves and a career-high five ground balls.

While Penn (11-4, 6-1) and Dartmouth share the regular-season title, the Quakers earned hosting honors for the Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament by virture of a 10-9 win over the Big Green earlier this season. Penn wrapped up it's share of a fifth consecutive Ivy title last week with a 12-5 win at Brown.

Penn, the No. 1 seed, will take on No. 4 seed Princeton (9-6, 5-2) in the second semifinal game, taking place May 6 at 7 p.m. on Franklin Field. No. 2 seed Dartmouth and No. 3 seed Harvard (9-5, 5-2) will face off in a rematch of Friday's game, playing the first semifinal game of the tournament on May 6 at 4 p.m.

The championship game is scheduled for Sunday, May 8 at 1 p.m. and will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network (CBSSN).