Site Navigation

18 Ivies Earn Automatic NCAA Qualification Following EIWA Championships

18 Ivies Earn Automatic NCAA Qualification Following EIWA Championships

Complete 2011 EIWA Championships Results

LEWISBURG, Pa. -- Cornell won its fifth conseuctive EIWA team title, head coach Rob Koll was named EIWA Coach of the Year and 18 total Ivy League wrestlers earned automatic bids to the NCAA Tournament at the 2011 EIWA Championships Sunday on the campus of Bucknell University.

The Big Red crowned four individual champions and advanced eight to the NCAA's while claiming the team title with a point total of 173.5. Penn finished fifth in the team standings (98 points), Columbia wa seventh (63 points), Harvard was 10th (47.5 points), Princeton was 11th (42.5 points) and Brown was 13th (3.5 points).

Cornell senior Mack Lewnes (174) was awarded the Fletcher Trophy, given to the wrestler who has earned the most team points in his EIWA career. He is now a four-time EIWA champion. Lewnes along with Frank Perrelli (125), Mike Grey (133) and Cam Simaz (197) all won titles in their respective weight classes.

Joining the four EIWA individual champions on the Big Red's NCAA-bound list are Corey Manson (141), Kyle Drake (149), DJ Meagher (157) and Steve Bosak (184). Bosak earned the Sheridan Award for scoring the most falls in the smallest amount of time in the championship bracket.

The Quakers earned five automatic NCAA bids including Mark Rappo (125), Rollie Peterkin (133), Zack Kemmerer (141), Gabriel Burak (165) and Micah Burak (197). Rappo and Micah Burak both placed second in their respective divisions at the EIWA Championships, while the remaining trio of Quakers all placed third.

Earning automatic NCAA qualification for Columbia was Eren Civan (157) and Kevin Lester (285). Harvard advances Steve Keith (125) and Walter Peppelman (157). Princeton's Garrett Frey (125) rounds out the Ivy League's automatic qualifiers.

Forty-nine additional at-large qualifiers who do not earn automatic berths will be selected at the conclusion of all conference tournaments. The at-large qualifiers will be announced March 9.

The 2011 NCAA Wrestling Championships will be contested March 17-19 at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.

EIWA Championship Standings (final)
1. Cornell - 173.5
2. Lehigh - 119
2. Rutgers - 116.5
4. American - 106
5. Penn - 98
6. Navy - 81.5
7. Columbia - 63
8. Bucknell - 59
9. Army - 56
10. Harvard - 47.5
11. Princeton - 42.5
12. Franklin & Marshall - 20
13. Brown - 3.5

Major Awards
Fletcher Award: Mack Lewnes, Cornell
Sheridan Award: Steve Bosak, Cornell
Good Sportsmanship Award: American
Coach of the Year: Rob Koll, Cornell
Coaches Trophy (outstanding wrestler of tournament): Kevin LeValley, Bucknell