Site Navigation

Cornell Wrestling Clinches 10th-Straight Ivy League Title

The Cornell Beg Red claimed the 2012 Ivy League wrestling title.
The Cornell Beg Red claimed the 2012 Ivy League wrestling title.

ITHACA, N.Y. -- The No. 4 Cornell wrestling team (9-0, 5-0 Ivy) won its 10th-straight Ivy League title with a commanding 30-9 victory over Columbia (4-3, 0-1 Ivy), Saturday at the Friedman Wrestling Center in Ithaca, N.Y.

The Big Red finished its conference slate undefeated for the ninth-straight season. Cornell is 49-1 during its stretch of 10 championships and has not lost in over a decade. The last League loss suffered by the Big Red came on Feb. 2, 2002, when it fell at Penn, 21-9.

On Saturday, Cornell used five extra point victories to defeat the Lions, including two technical falls. The Big Red opened a 12-0 lead in the first three bouts thanks to a major decision win by senior Frank Perrelli at 125 and a technical fall by sophomore Mike Nevinger at 131. For Perrelli, the win was the 100th of his career. Columbia did not register a point in a bout until the 149-pound contest, when Lions junior Steve Santos took down Cornell sophomore Chris Villalonga, 2-0, to put the Lions on the board.

Leading 12-3, Cornell used a major decision by junior Kyle Dake, the top-ranked wrestler at 157, and a 5-4 decision by sophomore Craig Eifert at 165 to increase its lead to 19-3. Columbia battled back with a pair of decisions at 174 and 184, but Big Red senior Cam Simaz clinched the Ivy League title for his team with a 21-5 technical fall at 197 to put the home squad up, 24-9. Cornell senior Maciej Jochym punctuated the trophy with a pin of Columbia senior Kevin Lester in the heavyweight bout, making the final score 30-9.

Match-by-match results
125: No. 5 Frank Perrelli (Cornell) 13-0 MD Robert Dyar (Columbia)    4-0 Cornell
133: Nick Arujau (Cornell) 4-0 dec Kyle Gilchrist (Columbia)               7-0 Cornell
141: No. 17 Mike Nevinger (Cornell) 15-0 TF Matt Bystol (Columbia)   12-0 Cornell
149: Steve Santos (Columbia) 2-0 dec No. 20 Chris Villalonga            12-3 Cornell
157: No. 1 Kyle Dake 11-0 MD vs. Jake O'Hara (Columbia)                 16-3 Cornell
165: Craig Eifert (Cornell) 5-4 dec vs. Adam Fondale (Columbia)         19-3 Cornell
174: Stephen West (Columbia) 6-0 dec Billy George (Cornell)             19-6 Cornell
184: Shane Hughes (Columbia) 8-3 dec Michael Alexander (Cornell)    19-9 Cornell
197: No. 1 Cam Simaz (Cornell) 21-5 TF Nick Mills (Columbia)            24-9 Cornell
HWT: Maciej Jochym (Cornell) pins 6:00 Kevin Lester (Columbia)        30-9 Cornell